A brilliant novel

Today didn’t consist of me getting much done. However, I did manage to get two of my friends to start watching the BBC series Sherlock (which I recommend to anyone else who hasn’t seen it)

Needless to say, they loved the first series and, of course, I sat down and watched it with them. Which got me thinking about the original novel by Sir Author Conan Doyle.

I had actually started reading the stories of Sherlock Holmes, and his brilliant friend Watson, when I had decided to buy the 1096 page leather-bound complete collection book last summer. I’m going to be perfectly honest, I have only just about managed to get half way, but I think this is one of the best books I have ever read.

Now don’t get me wrong, I read quite often, and I’m not saying this because it is a classic and some people think it sounds “cool” or “intellectual” to claim such books as one of your favourites, I only decided to buy this book because the series Sherlock left me wanting more and made me quite curious about what the original would have been like. I liked the story, and the characters, from the series so much that I wanted to know how different it was to the novel. (because, quite frankly, movies aren’t always as good as the books they are based on)

This complete collections book – quite big and heavy – consists of the 4 novels and the many short stories that were written by this amazing author and honestly, once I start reading it, I hate having to stop doing so. Every sentence, every description, the way Holmes solves the cases; it’s just so addictive. Even the cases themselves – some of which are quite outrageous, but they are brilliantly outrageous and leave you wondering what it would be like to come across such a case in your day to day life. As you read more and more, you become part of the book, as if you’d just jumped into it and joined in the hunt to solve the case. It leaves you guessing, trying to solve the mystery before the character does. It gets your imagination going and allows you to walk in the shoes of a detective’s friend, as if you are there with Holmes the whole time.

I honestly grew up thinking I would never read Sherlock Holmes; it just didn’t appeal to me as a child or during high school. But I sit here now wondering why I didn’t pick up this book any earlier because it is so mesmerising. 

I even bought a copy of The Hound of the Baskervilles for my best friend yesterday as an early birthday present, and also to get him to start reading more often. This novel is by far the one I like the most so far, and definitely kept me on edge, so I hope it does the same for him. 

As for me, I’m going to carry on reading the massive book that I own, and hope I get through all 1096 pages soon.

I wonder if anyone else has found this when reading these novels..?

Leave a Reply

