Confidence

Confidence is something I’ve always had an issue with, and something I’ve been working on, especially since starting university. It’s an issue that so many people face: having faith in themselves and believing in themselves.

However, for some people, certain activities boost their self confidence. Quite often without them realising, but usually the person is aware of this. For some this could be through writing, others, music, but for me, it comes in the form of dancing.

Dancing has been something I’ve loved doing since a young age. I used to take lessons for traditional eastern dancing at the age of around 3 or 4 (none of which I can remember now) and also took lessons for street dance when I was around 9 years old, and restarted as soon as I started university. But regardless of whether I took lessons or not, I always remember never hesitating to dance at parties or get togethers when I was still a kid. Where other kids would hesitate, I wouldn’t think twice. But the older I got, the less confident I was with my dancing, until I discovered my new obsession: k-pop.

For those of you who don’t know, K-Pop is basically Korean pop music, and about 90% of songs feature some sort of a dance routine. Slowly, but surely, I started dancing again, learning the routines for these songs in my bedroom in front of my small mirror.

The phrase “practice makes perfect” comes into play here. The more I danced, I became better at dancing and also faster at picking up the moves. Over the span of two years of non-stop dancing and learning routines, and occasionally uploading a few videos onto youtube for my nonexistent viewers, my dancing abilities had improved quite tremendously. As one friend had pointed out, “You’ve improved at dancing; your moves are executed a lot better than they used to be, when you put up your first dance cover.”

A hobby turned into an obsession, a passion, something I couldn’t find myself not doing. Getting into university opened a variety of new doors for me, in terms of dancing. But there has always been one type I had always wanted to learn properly: street. From dragging my two closest friends to a taster session, to continuously attending classes thereon after, this new journey I decided to take on has been anything but regretful. It gave me the confidence to attend classes on my own, to have fun whilst dancing and it has helped me learn so much more. With a huge dance show coming up next month, I know this is only going to help me grow into a more confident being.

Which brings me to something my best friend told me, not too long ago, after watching me dance like I’ve never danced before, on a night out. “You are so much more confident when you’re dancing,” he said. And that’s something I didn’t realise. But he has a point. When I dance, everything around me disappears and all that matters is the music, the floor and the movements. Being able to ignore everything around me and be less aware of those around me, does seem to boost my confidence. I’m not a strong dancer, or a highly skilled one either, but dancing is something anyone can enjoy regardless of how they dance.
It makes me happy, knowing that.
But now I need to find a way to channel that confidence to when I’m not dancing. Similar to a quote from one of my favourite books, Matched by Ally Condie:

Now that I’ve found the way to fly, which direction should I go into the night?

One thought on “Confidence

  1. itmayormaynotrhyme says:

    Have you seen the film “Take The Lead”? It’s about an upper class dance teacher who goes to an inner-city school and begins teaching ballroom dancing, based on the real story of Pierre Dulaine. You reminded me of the character LaRhette Dudley when you started talking about how you feel when you dance.

    Like

Leave a Reply

