Loving the feeling of being tired

It has been a while since I’ve written something on here, and to be perfectly honest, I didn’t really know what to write about. But also, on top of that, I’ve had so much work to do (thank you Uni /sigh/) and also, a hell of a lot of dancing.

For the first time in my life, I’m participating in a dance show, which is taking place this month. The show is the University’s sell out annual dance show, so taking part in this is such a big deal for me. It consists of 5 shows over 3 days, so it is going to be quite hectic, especially with me participating in two acts, beginners and intermediate street. So as you can probably guess, rehearsals and practices have been so intense.

On top of this dance show, I’m also taking part in the university’s Asian society’s annual cultural show, which is a week before the University dance show. I, being oh so greedy when it comes to dancing, am taking part in 3 different dances for this show, on top of the two acts I’m already doing for the other dance show. One of the dances is also one I am having to choreograph and take charge of.

This has lead to me having just dance rehearsals for at least 10 hours a week, with my own practice times on top of that, and with more rehearsals coming up soon. To put this into context, there is one day in particular where I have 2 to 3 hours of street dance followed by 2 hours of another dance practice.

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining about all this. I’m actually loving it. Yes, I do come back worn out and tired, and there are days when I don’t get to eat properly, but the feeling is fantastic. Feeling so tired afterward makes me feel like I’m achieving something; that it’s all worth it. It makes me feel happy knowing that all this practice and choreography is going to result in something amazing, and makes me feel happy knowing that I’m not only dancing a lot but also trying a huge range of dances too, that I’m pushing my self to go out of my comfort zone, testing my limits.

Now this is going to be a shameless promotion, but if anyone is around the Southampton area between the 21st and 23rd March, I would honestly recommend checking out the dance show, Pure Dance, and tickets are available on the Turner Sims website.

Leave a Reply

