Flying.

I’ve never really been a big fan of travelling by plane. Don’t get me wrong, planes are amazing inventions and were a massive turning point for engineering, but sitting in one and flying from one country to another isn’t an idea I’ve been liking recently.

I’ve had quite a bad fear of heights and falling for many years now – after a really bad encounter with a giant slide at the age of 9 – and, therefore, I never used to be good at travelling by plane. Take off and landing – and quite often, the planes turning – used to scare the living daylights out of me when I was a bit younger. I soon started to get used to the feeling as I grew up, and as travels became more frequent, but it wasn’t something I looked forward to.

However, recently, with all these plane related tragedies – and a few discouraging stories from people around me – I’ve begun to feel really uncomfortable with the thought of flying anywhere. I’m aware that these incidents are really rare and isolated, but my mind seems to grasp the fact that these incidents can happen, and doesn’t really take into account the “really rare” part. The slightest bit of turbulence makes my heart stop. Watching the wing flex about doesn’t help either.

On my way back from Barcelona a few weeks ago, I was sat in between a 16 year old boy, who I had met on the plane, and one of my closest friends – both of whom thoroughly enjoyed making the plane ride home as scary as it could be. “Hey what is that noise??! Think something might be broken!” – NOT funny. At All. (Wasn’t helped by another friend, sat behind me, who decided to let us all know that when the Oxygen masks drop, we only have 20 seconds to put on the masks due to the oxygen in the cabin running out. I don’t know how reliable this is but at the time, it was a very reliable piece of information.) And with a few of my friends having flown abroad recently for the summer break, my mind isn’t at rest until I get a message from them saying that they arrived safely. Crazy, I know. Being a student who is currently doing a degree in Mechanical Engineering, you’d think I’d know better than to be worried about things like that – but when I’m sat in a plane, I suddenly become someone who knows nothing about the subject.

I know I’m worrying over, well, not much at all but does anyone else feel this way, or is it just me?

Leave a Reply

