My not so guilty pleasure

I adore K-Pop. Ever since I came across it about 4 years ago, I have been hooked. If anyone reading this has ever heard any K-pop song, then you will probably know how amazingly catchy they can be. Over the years, I grew to be a massive fan girl; though it has died down the past year or so, but I still try to keep up to date with the latest music in the Korean music industry. Being exposed to K-Pop introduced me to whole new world – I had no idea how big the music was, not only in Korea, but pretty much all of East Asia.

It also was the main reason why I started dancing and encouraged me to learn a new language. Over the space of a few months, I was able to teach myself to read and write Hangul, and since then I have been expanding my vocab, and can now have a simple conversation with someone. Over the space of 4 years, my dancing skills have improved so much, even I find it hard to believe. I used to be a really timid dancer, but now, it’s become a huge part of my life and I never hold back. Not only that, I’ve learnt about more styles other than just pop. I’m now a fan of K-Indie and Korean Hip-Hop is surprisingly a lot more pleasant to listen to than current western hip-hop, which I feel has lost its touch. I listen to K-Pop pretty much every day, learn the dances to songs so often that I lose track of what I’ve learnt and what I haven’t, and it has become my way of relaxing.

K-Pop is, however, an industry that does receive a lot of negativity. A lot of artists are trained for years to become who they are, although there are still a large number of artists who aren’t put through any or little training. It is also said to be a comparatively strenuous industry in comparison to the American music scene, with artists having endless performances and practices and other schedules, resulting in them not having enough sleep, and a rough lifestyle. The reason why I’m mentioning this is so that people don’t generalise things: for crazy K-Pop fans, it’s okay to accept that the industry has issues, or that your idol isn’t prefect, and for those who hate on K-Pop with tainted reasons, try to look at the bigger picture.

Regardless of what it is like, I still appreciate the music, the songs, and feel those who have written and produced those songs, which in some cases areΒ the artists themselves, deserve what they have achieved. They have so much talent, and I’m sure anyone else who listens to music for these reasons will think the same. I’m going to leave this post with my current favourite K-Pop song, which fits in well with the winter-y weather and mood.

Leave a Reply

