Bucket List #1

On February 3rd 2013, I made my first ever Bucket List. I wasn’t entirely sure what to put down, but, nevertheless, I managed to come up with 100 items; 100 things I wanted to do. Looking back on it now, I can definitely say that some of them are a bit strange, but I’ve managed to tick off a lot too. Every week, I will post 20 items on my bucket list, explain why they’re on there in the first place, and say if I have completed any of them. At the end of the 5 weeks, I’m going to create an updated bucket list (one that is definitely more realistic) and share it on here, and in a few years time, I hope to look back on it and see how much I’ve managed to get done.

  1. Go to a SHINee World Concert – those who know me, know that I am a huge fan of SHINee (they’re Korean) and this is something I really want to do
  2. Get into the University of Southampton – this has definitely happened. I am currently studying my second year at this university, and will always feel privileged to be studying at such an amazing institute
  3. Get a Masters in Engineering – despite having my career plans changed slightly, I still want to get a first-class Masters degree in Engineering
  4. Visit South Korea – aside from the fact that I am crazy about K-Pop, it is an amazing country, with an interesting history, and I would love to explore it one day
  5.  Get a Korean Penpal – I had always wanted a penpal, but decided that a Korean would help me with learning the language. I’m no longer in touch with my penpal after I lost his details when I changed my phone, but I do still remember his name, Junho
  6. Go for a long walk by the River Han at night – from what I’ve heard, it is meant to be beautiful at night
  7. Meet my favourite band/singer – I mean, who doesn’t, right?
  8.  Get a reply from a celebrity to a tweet – after not having tried too hard with this celebrity in particular, I finally got a reply from a guy named Kevin Woo who is part of a K-Pop band I used to like a lot called U-Kiss
  9. Visit Japan – Ever since I started watching anime and reading manga when I was around 11, I have wanted to go visit Japan so much, and learning the language has just made me want to go even more
  10. Continue studying Japanese after leaving high school – I studied Japanese at school for 4 years; I took it for my GCSEs as an extra subject and achieved an A*, and then again for AS Level and achieved a B. I was really hoping to carry on learning after I had left school but I just haven’t been able to find anywhere in Southampton that teaches it
  11. Learn Korean properly – having only learnt Korean by self-learning, I still find it hard to get to grips with formal Korean conversation, as I had only taught myself colloquial phrases and words. I would love to take Korean lessons and become fluent in the language and be able to take the language proficiency test at the end.
  12.  See SHINee perform live  – Of course, everyone wants to see their favourite band or singer performing live. I eventually got the chance to see SHINee perform live at the London Korean Film Festival a few years ago
  13.  See EXO-K perform live – Yet another band I really like, and I was able to see them at the MBC Korean Festival held at the IndigO2
  14. Go to an SM Town Concert – EXO and SHINee are managed under a company called SM Entertainment, who hold a massive tour called SM Town every year with all their artists. I have wanted to see this concert ever since it started, and hopefully will be able to one day (it’s not cheap either)
  15. Learn to play the Saxophone – I’ve always been one for trying to learn new instruments, and this is definitely something I still want to give a go at
  16.  Form a band – I actually did form a band during high school.. we were called Fall Fret and I was the singer/bass guitarist, occasionally second guitar. We split after we left high school though
  17. Hold my own concert or performance – I’ve written about my passion for the piano and also for dance before on this blog, and one of my dreams is to hold a performance of my own one day
  18.  Write and produce my own song – I used to have a phase where I was mad about becoming a songwriter. I wrote a few, but they were never good and make me cringe whenever I read over the lyrics. However, I did get to write and produce my own song as part of my Music coursework. Achievement Unlocked.
  19.  Take professional dancing lessons – Before I started university, and after I’d started improving significantly at dancing, I wanted to take professional lessons in order to expand my skills. And I have. I attend street every week at uni, and over the last summer, I attended lessons at Pineapple Dance Studios in London
  20. Go on a road trip across Europe – because I love travelling and visiting new places. It’s something I’ve wanted to do since a very young age, having been brought up learning about different countries from my mum.

What’s on your bucket list?

Leave a Reply

