Life Blog – Appreciation

My best friend graduated yesterday, with a Bachelors in Law. What a proud moment that was. We all braved the heat (him more than most in his suit AND robe) for the occasion, and it was certainly one to remember (and not just because of the sudden heatwave that hit the UK).

I’ve gotten to know this guy so much over the past 4 months (+ 1 week, but hey who’s counting). Though having met him nearly 3 years ago, I would have never thought we would have connected the way we did, to the point where he is now my best friend. One I feel so blessed to have.

I know he has come a long way to get to where he is now, and he has got so much more to look forward to in life. He has the potential to really shine out in the world, and I hope he grabs every opportunity that’s presented to him.

But I can’t help but feel sad that his time at this university has, potentially, come to an end. I would have loved to spend more of my university life with him, more time dancing with him, more time exploring. I remember telling him a few months ago that it would be great if he came back to our university as a postgraduate in September just so that we could, hopefully, be on the same dance squad together. He is someone I have always looked up to in dance, and being on the same squad would mean the world.

I was talking to another close friend last night about him and how he was leaving, and my friend said to me, “It’s nice to have someone you know considers you that important.” And it honestly is. I feel proud and privileged whenever he calls me his best friend, because I honestly don’t know how I have managed to find such a great friend like him. He has been with me through so many ups and downs in the last few months alone, that it feels like he’s been there for years.

Friendship isn’t about who you’ve known the longest. It’s about who walked into your life and said “I’m here for you” and proved it.

I also find it scary how alike we are. The last time I had a close friend who I felt was quite similar to me was during school, so it has been a while. It’s honestly such a warm and welcoming feeling.

It’s not like we haven’t had our moments, when trying to get to know and understand each other. But we always bounced back up. It’s friendships like those that you really need to hold onto.

I think if I’ve learned anything about friendship, it’s to hang in, stay connected, fight for them, and let them fight for you. Don’t walk away, don’t be distracted, don’t be too busy or tired, don’t take them for granted. Friends are part of the glue that holds life and faith together. Powerful stuff.

I am honestly so proud of what he has achieved so far and of how far he has come. I feel even more proud and honored to call him my best friend. And I hope that title will stand strong for many years to come.

——–

Thank you for being my heukgisa in times of need, for being someone who could always distract me and make me smile when I’m down. Thank you for having so much faith in me when I was at my lowest, and for understanding the more complicated side of me. And, for always embracing me with open arms as well, as I did you.

I know my anxiety gets in the way a lot of the times – it must take a lot to stay patient with me during those moments – but thank you for being someone I can always turn to. That in itself is something that is irreplaceable.

I wish the very best for your future, and just know that I will be with you every step of the way.

Forever your MVP.

Leave a Reply

