Daily Shorts – Natural History Museum

Have you ever stepped in to a building and felt like you have been transported to another world? That’s what it feels like to me, when I walk in through the doors of the Natural History Museum in London.

The Hintze Hall, shown above, is the first space you see upon entering the museum, and certainly feels like something out of a fairytale. It has a grand staircase at the back, which joins onto the first floor balcony, overlooking the huge space below. Directly opposite the staircase is a magnificent bridge, which always reminds me of the Bridge of Sighs at Oxford, only bigger and more breathtaking.

Despite having been redecorated and having had newer extensions added to the building, the old architecture still blows me away.

If you’ve never visited the museum, then I recommend. I have visited it countless times – it’s one of my go-to places – but I still find every visit exciting.

Leave a Reply

