Daily Shorts – Conquered

Well, sort of.

I have had pretty bad acrophobia since I was about 10 years old. My fear of heights mixes with my severe fear of falling, and becomes a pretty embarrassing trait. I can’t even get on a small banana boat ride, let alone roller coasters.

A few days ago, I took a step forward to overcoming my acrophobia (which isn’t something I do often). I suggested going on the Emirates cable car here in London, of my own accord, and was proud of the fact that I stayed very calm.

… that was until the car reached the highest point on the line and started swaying from side to side. It was probably just the wind but I lost my head over it. I had a panic attack and started hyperventilating, which only made my mother’s fears heighten.

I guess conquering my greatest fear is going to take a bit longer than I hoped.

Leave a Reply

