Daily Shorts – Frustrated

I tried to talk my mother again today, about my anxiety. I didn’t bring up the topic of my own accord; she did. She was trying to tell me that I really need to start focusing on my revision and exams, and was trying to give me tips when I’m being overwhelmed by thoughts.

Despite this, she still doesn’t seem to understand. ‘You know, everything will be fine if you just stopped worrying about unnecessary things,’ she said. ‘These are all things you really don’t need to spend so much time thinking about. We can handle it.’

I can’t just turn it off. It doesn’t come with an ‘OFF’ switch. If it worked like that then trust me, a lot of people will be better off.

I know, and I can tell she is trying. But it’s moments like this that make me wish I didn’t have to talk about it.

2 thoughts on “Daily Shorts – Frustrated

  1. Paul Lamb says:

    I really understand this. I have the same situation with my wife. She doesn’t comprehend the depth of my darkness and honestly, lovingly, thinks that simple responses make sense. She really wants to help, but like your mother, she doesn’t understand what help is needed (or if anything can actually help).

    I wish I had an answer for you, but I wish I had an answer for me too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • truemushroom says:

      I think, in a way, it is comfortingto know that you’re not the only person struggling with this problem, and to know that there is someone in your life who cares enough to try and help. I don’t know about you but I find I don’t have that many people around me who do want to try and help. But that being said, for both our sakes, I hope we find an answer or some sort of a support system soon. Please do take care of yourself, and stay strong.

      Like

Leave a Reply

