Daily Shorts – Waiting

So, Harry Potter fans will know that the next batch of tickets for Harry Potter and the Cursed Child were released today at 11am GMT. In order to be in with a chance of getting these tickets, you had to start ‘pre-queuing’ online from 10am, and you would be placed randomly in the queue when the sale started at 11am.

Two websites were selling the tickets for the play, and at 10am on the dot, both servers crashed. It took me 20 minutes to try and get into the pre-queue, and even then I had nearly 8000 people waiting in front of me. My friends had 40,000 to 60,000 people in front of them.

I mean, I knew the tickets were going to be popular, but I did not expect this sort of a response. The last time I tried buying tickets for something and the server crashed was back in 2010 or so, when my favourite K-Pop group SHINee came to do a special performance in London. There were only 300 tickets available but the K-Pop fandom managed to crash Odeon’s website within 30 seconds of the tickets going on sale. I only managed to get tickets for that because my friend’s dad happened to be near the box office and went and bought our tickets there.

I now have over 3000 people in the queue in front of me and I’m still waiting. Let’s see if I get lucky.

Leave a Reply

