Daily Shorts – It’s back

I have been having a recurring nightmare. I haven’t had it in a few days now but it came back last night. It’s one of those that makes you fear everything and anything.

I wake up panicking and crying, and struggle to fall asleep again. As I close my eyes, this terrifying image takes over and I’m forced to open my eyes again. My mind fights as hard as it can to try and remove the image but it’s futile.

I lay awake in my bed for hours after, trying to distract myself. My body and my mind are both exhausted and desperately seeking rest, but I fight through the hours until I am able to close my eyes in peace.

I put on a facade and fight through the day too, hoping no one will notice my body shaking in fear and anxiety; hoping no one will see the panic and doubt that has taken over me.

Leave a Reply

