Daily Shorts – Lying

I wish I was better at this, better at hiding my feelings, and thoughts and emotions.

I was asked a question today by someone who sees me fairly frequently, a question I had not prepared an answer to. I hesitated, stuttered and blurted out, ‘Nothing’ with so much uncertainty. I could tell by the expression on their face that they saw right through me, but understood that it wasn’t something I wanted to discuss, and so dropped the topic.

At least now I can try and prepare some answers for that question if it crops up again, and hopefully rehearse it well enough that it sounds natural. Maybe even to the point where I myself start to believe it.

One thought on “Daily Shorts – Lying

  1. depressionistheenemy says:

    I can understand the temptation to do this. Truth be told, while sometimes talking about my issues to someone can be therapeutic, I still cannot help but feel like a burden to them. My knowledge tells me that that’s the depression talking and not me, but it is easier said than done.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

