Daily Shorts – Chai Time Thoughts

‘It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to our enemies, but a great deal more to stand up to our friends’

Albus Dumbledore, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

When standing up to our enemies, we can afford to put across our opinions, no matter the cost. We can afford to speak our mind even if it means ‘losing’ them (per say), because we will no longer have to hold them close to our world. When standing up to our friends, we run the risk of losing them, and is that a risk worth taking?

This has been puzzling me for some time – feeling unable to speak my mind about certain issues that may be bothering me and express myself freely because I’m afraid of losing those who are important to me, or being misunderstood. Sometimes I might not be in a position to ask; I might be crossing a line I don’t even know is there by asking. You might be thinking, ‘If they are that important to you, then surely they will understand your point of view and be able to discuss it with you’. It’s not that easy.

I don’t know if it’s a general issue other friends face too, but maybe my personality and way of thinking is just difficult to understand? Does that mean I change? Or do I continue shutting off a side of me that so desperately wants to be free? Or do I risk it all and open up and free myself?

If I can be honest, I’m not feeling very tempted by the latter simply because of far too many close calls. Maybe I am better off without those people in my life, but right now, I’m not so sure. I don’t think I will be until I myself feel more stable and more independent. But maybe isolation or distancing is the way to becoming more stable. Maybe these kinds of friendships or relationships are more detrimental to my mental health, especially when they don’t see or treat me the way I do them. Even if they bring me so much joy at certain times.

This wasn’t a very short Daily Short but I had to get all of this down into words, from thoughts.

Leave a Reply

