Daily Shorts – Insomnia Inconvenience

I have my first exam of my final year at university in just over 6 hours. 6 hours. Meaning I need to be up in about 4 hours to make sure I have enough time to patiently and calmly get through my morning routine.

Why am I still awake? Trust me when I say I’ve lost track of how many times I’ve asked myself that same question.

092016_funwithinsomnia-1024x1024

relatable

It’s not fear, nor any nervousness or panic towards the exam. Quite the contrary actually. It’s acting as yet another trigger and bringing back thoughts I really want to put away. The trigger is of last exam season – end of my last academic year, so around May 2016 – and of how things were at that time.

It’s silly, to be thinking about those memories right now. Especially hours before I need to be up to sit one of 5 exams that may make or break my degree. I’m not sure whether I feel longing.. or regret. But whatever it is, it’s certainly doing a good job at keeping me awake.

On a side note, I knew the photo I have used as the featured image for this post would come in handy one day! It was taken just under 4 years ago at the hotel we were staying at in Barcelona, after a very, very long coach journey.

Leave a Reply

