Life Blog – A Necessity

I’m proud of you, you know.. you’re a very mature person,” said a friend of mine earlier today.

I’ve had to become a mature person, even if it is something to be proud of. I have had to because of a number of reasons: the people around me aren’t mature or are very immature about a lot of important aspects, that it forces you into a situation where you have to be the one being mature so that you can stay on top of the things that are important to you; you’re at a certain point in your life (nearly a graduate) and you need to start maturing so that you are able to face the real, working world; you’ve gone through a lot of pain, hurt and betrayal but it teaches you that by being mature about certain things can help reduce some of this.

All of these apply to me, the first and latter more than I would like to admit. I think I’m at a point where I’ve been at my lowest so often, and been hurt so much, that I can’t see myself seeing hurt more than I have been already. I don’t even know if that makes sense, but the pain I have had to go through, physical and emotional, have left me thinking that there are very few ways in which things could be worse.

But one thing this has helped with is today’s Daily Prompt topic: Criticize.

I have found that you need to have a certain level of maturity to, not only be able to accept or handle criticism from others but also criticize yourself – constructively of course. We are all human and we all have various flaws that come and go, worsen or better, over the years. Without this level of maturity, you will be reluctant to accept the flaws within you – something needed for self growth – and work on improving yourself in a way which makes you happy. You become respectful and understanding of other people’s advice and criticism, adding to your self growth and providing you with better opportunities to meet and get to know more people.

So yes, I am more mature than I ever have been – and I have always been told I’m quite mature for my age – but I need to be if I’m to get through these next few months left of university and the people I am surrounded by; I need to be to grow as a person, to be critical about my skills and talents, and to see myself become the person I want to be, the dancer I want to be, the teacher I want to be.

via Daily Prompt: Criticize

Leave a Reply

