Daily Shorts – Off Day

Today has not been great. I was woken up at 3am by a terrible cough, which had me suffering for at least 10 minutes straight before I could calm it and get back to sleep. Due to this and also feeling terribly ill, I missed my morning lab session and my midday lecture. When I did manage to get out of bed, I was more clumsy than usual – dropping things, slipping, spilling – and was getting frustrated at myself for all these things.

My housemate didn’t make things easier, complaining over petty issues and being stubborn about things when it was not necessary

So I decided to remove myself from the situation and meet my fellow blogging friend in the library, and my mood picked up.

Until I met the problem person again.

I was doing fine, I even ignored them – but then they came to sit next to me on their way out. They didn’t say anything, no ‘hello’ or ‘how are you doing?’, and sat there staring at my work. A minute or so passed in silence and they arose from their seat and proceeded to say a simple (slightly concerned) comment as they left.

It was nothing major, yet I found myself smiling about it later. I feel stupid. I shouldn’t smile about it for I know their concern must be full of pretense and fake – and just something to lead me on.

But now my mood is bummed, and I can’t get myself to do any work.

Leave a Reply

