Mushroom Reads… The Lost Symbol, Dan Brown

I have still got a lot of books I have started reading, and haven’t been able to get round to finishing. Despite this, I decided to start another.

This month the main book I’m reading is The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown. I bought this book years ago, when it first came out, but never got the chance to get round to reading it now. That was until now. I was in the mood for reading something full of mystery and puzzles, and Dan Brown’s books have never failed to keep me on the edge of my seat and wanting more.

Always for one creating controversial yet mind-blowing novels that you can’t put down, this one has been the same. This book is focused on yet another symbology based mystery, based in Washington DC, and linked to the kidnapping of protagonist Robert Langdon’s mentor, Peter Solomon.

I’m only about a third of the way in, if anything, but it had me turning pages endlessly from the very first chapter (to the point where I missed my stops on trains on multiple occasions). The chapters are short and quite concise, and currently flit between two scenes, which I anticipate will come together later on in the story as the journey to solve the mystery advances. Although slightly confusing at first, you can see how both scenes fall in place with the plot and their significance in the story.

It seems like it will be a darker story than his other well known novels, The Da Vinci Code and Angels and Demons, but on par with Inferno. Regardless of the dark history that the novel seems to be based on, it has literally got me wanting to know more – to venture out to Washington and explore all these sites for myself.

It’s a book I would definitely recommend if you want a page turner; this does not disappoint.

Leave a Reply

